Mass Times

Masses this week, Weekend, and Reconciliation times.

Mass Times


Church Locations

Find our Church addresses on the regional map.




Our current Newsletter as well as past Newsletters listed by date.


Previous Parish Priests


1855: Fr J. Murphy (Incl Cygnet)

1898: Fr P. Hennessy

1905: Fr J. Gilmartin

1921: Fr J. Ryan

1933: Fr Fitzpatrick

1937: Fr L.P. Sherry

1948: Fr M. O'Loughlin

1953: Fr B. Rogers

1956: Fr L.J. Huxtable

1958: Fr K.Manning

1959: Fr A.J. Benneworth

1961: Fr P.J. Hansen

1969: Fr M.J. Kearns

1971: Fr. P.J. McAnany

1979: Fr L. Floyd

1982: Fr T.J. Garvey

1982: Fr A. Fletcher

1988: Fr A.J. Shelverton

1990: Fr. G.M. Howard

2000: Fr P. Fraser OFM

In 2001, the Franklin and Cygnet Parishes merged to form the Catholic Parish of the Huon Valley


1863: Fr. J Holehan

1868: Fr J.J. McKernan

1868: Fr T. Kelsh

1872: Fr M.J. O'Regan

1879: Fr P.J. O'Reilly

1888: Fr J. Holehan

1894: Fr P.J. O'Flynn

1914: Fr L. McCarthy MSH

1927: Fr A. Cullen

1937: Fr J. Kerrisk

1939: Fr F. Kent

1940: Fr M.P.Gaffney

1961: Fr A.J. Benneworth

1964: Fr A. Mithen

1966: Fr A.J. Benneworth

1969: Fr T. Garvey

1976: Fr G. Howard

1988: Fr. G. Sheedy

1994: Fr J. Reilly

2001: Fr P. Nicholls

Catholic Parish of the
Huon Valley

2001: Fr P. Nicholls

2007: Fr M. Hickey

2009: Fr M. Freeman

2010: Fr G.C. Barker

2015: Fr M. Tate

2017: Fr D. Dusi (Parish Administrator)

2020 Fr W. Edwards

Assistant Priests:

1893: Fr C. McCarthy (Visited 1893) 1911: Fr J.J. Barry (Franklin)

1912: Fr J. Ryan (Franklin)

1917: Fr A. Shinnick (Franklin)

1920: Fr J. Cullen (Franklin)

1921: Fr W.A. Fitzpatrick (Franklin)

1925: Fr N. McNally (Cygnet)

1927: Fr P. Adlum (Franklin)

1940: Fr P. Murphy (Cygnet)

1944: Fr J. Halpin (Cygnet)

1947: Fr B. Wallis (Cygnet)

1962: Fr G. Kelly (Cygnet)

1872: Fr M. O'Callaghan (Cygnet)

1950: Fr. B.C. Rogers (Cygnet)

1944: Fr M. Flynn (Cygnet)

1952: Fr. T. McDonell (Cygnet)

1955: Fr G. Sheedy(Cygnet)

1958: Fr R. Wells (Cygnet)

1959: Fr K. Manning (Cygnet)

1960: Fr L. Floyd (Cygnet)

1967: Fr J. Purcell

1972: Fr P. McCormack (Cygnet)


St. Mary of the Cross Catholic Church, Ranelagh

ranelagh 23

See more photos here

Contact Us

Parish Priest: Fr Warren Edwards
PO Box 62, Cygnet 7112
25 Mary St, Cygnet 7112
Presbytery Ph: (03) 6295 1239

eMail us